Detox Weekend

by Sarah Jane

Photoshopped broth

Our first weekend in detox mode has gone pretty well. Doing a detox has not only been good for my health, it has also been fun because it forces me to try new recipes or ways of cooking that I wouldn’t normally do. If you are stuck in a food rut, try a detox! I guarantee it will give you a new perspective on cooking. It also produces some truly beautiful and colorful photographs.

Some of our more successful recipes have been:

Cauliflower “Rice” Stirfry:

Cauliflower stir fry

Gluten Free Banana Pancakes:

DSC_0076_ps

and Red Lentil and Butternut Squash Stew

Red Lentil Stew2

I will post the recipes separately.

Some thoughts on detoxing:
-Only eating vegetables (such as the cauliflower stirfry) can be rough on digestion. It would be nice if the recipes contained slightly a bit more protein
-It makes you very tired to have much fewer calories and so it is not a good idea to do intense exercise during detox. I opted for some “detox” yoga (from yogadownload.com) as a gentle way to get in some exercise and stretching.
-I don’t know if we’ll last 21 days. Actually, I know that we won’t. Livio had sausage yesterday along with his Cauliflower Stir Fry.

Nonetheless, I think a detox or cleanse or whatever you may call it is a good thing to do for your body. Even if you aren’t 100% successful, it can’t hurt to eat more vegetables and less processed food for a couple of weeks. It can also be pretty tasty 🙂

Gluten Free Banana Pancakes

