Padova

by Sarah Jane

Canals

When I decided to move back to Italy, I made a promise to myself that I would try to appreciate the unique opportunity I have living abroad by visiting and photographing new Italian cities as much as possible, enjoying local and regional cuisine and blogging about these activities to those who perhaps cannot experience the same. I will continue doing a series like this where I show highlights from different cities I visit.

Beautiful white buildings

This past weekend Livio and I visited the city in which we met for the first time. Although Padova is certainly not a new city for me, I saw it in a new light. We stopped at IKEA first to pick up some household items, had a leisurely and delicious Sunday lunch at a beautiful new restaurant in the city center and then we browsed some of the few shops that were open before heading home. Sunday is a big day for families, friends and couples to stroll the city center and enjoy what is a day off for most, however I can bet that a lot of the people normally in the center of Padova jetted off to Carnevale in Venice to enjoy the festivities leading up to Martedì Grasso (Fat Tuesday).

Kofler

Kofler Cafe in Piazza dei Signori, Padova

The interior of the Restaurant was gorgeous as you can see below. It opened just last year and inside it has lovely white stone walls and rustic wood tables and elegant white chairs.

Kofler2

They serve you bread immediately with deliciously strong and fruity olive oil for dipping.

Acqua

Pane

There are two levels of seating and on the second level there is a huge arched window in the back overlooking Piazza dei Signori in the city center. Lovely view!

Vista

Livio ordered Pizza Meritevole, a margherita pizza topped with creamy, fresh burrata- a special type of cheese.

Pizza Pizza

I ordered a delicious “hot salad” consisting of steamed vegetables and topped with sauteed lemon chicken and a generous topping of shaved Parmiggiano Reggiano.

Chicken

We also indulged in some Olive Ascolane and French fries…it was Sunday after all.

Fritte Prosecco

To walk off our lunch we then explored the shops that were open- one of my favorite being Massimo Dutti. You can actually shop online from the US here.

Massimo Dutti

Padova is a picturesque city with typical Italian cobbled streets leading into the city center of 3 main piazzas. It also has canals weaving through it and I think they add to the charm of this lesser known city.

More canals

Piazza dei Signori from a different angle.

Piazza dei Signori Color

It was a great Sunday and I always love going back and seeing Padova. It is funny because it will always feel a little bit like home to me since it was the first city I lived in when I studied abroad and I think that helps me see the beauty in it. We also had an undocumented stop for a coffee at the famous Caffè Pedrocchi. I wish I had taken pictures because it is a truly stunning Cafe. You can read about it here.

Ciao for now!

